Aqua credit card review

Find out how Aqua’s credit-building cards have been rated for their application process, customer service, mobile app and more in our latest credit card customer satisfaction survey.

What do Aqua credit cards offer?

Aqua is a brand that offers credit-builder cards issued by New Day Ltd.

Credit-builder cards are suitable for those who have a limited credit history or struggle with debt and are keen to boost their credit score.

Aqua currently offers two deals, Aqua Classic and Aqua Advance. Credit is subject to status.

Aqua Classic is a no-frills deal that allows you to build up your credit score when you use the card and pay it back each month. The representative APR is 37.9% (variable).

Aqua Advance offers the chance to reduce your interest rate each year with good account management. This deal also offers fee-free spending abroad and access to your credit report via CreditView. The representative APR is 34.9% (variable).

Aqua also provides an app, text alerts and guides to help you on your journey to improve your credit score.

How does Aqua compare with other providers?

Aqua has come 24th out of 26 providers in our latest credit card satisfaction survey, with customers giving the brand a score of 67%.

Aqua specialises in lending to borrowers with a poor or limited credit history, yet its rates start at 37.9% APR – well above average even in this sector.

Is Aqua a good credit card provider?

Our survey also reveals how Aqua customers rated the provider across 10 categories.

Find out in the table below how Aqua scored for its application process, online account management, telephone banking, mobile app, statement clarity, transparency of charges, overseas usage fees, customer service, query handling and complaint resolution.

Aqua credit card customer satisfaction category Star rating
Customer service 3 out of 5
Application process 4 out of 5
Clarity of statement 3 out of 5
Transparency of charges 3 out of 5
Charges for using your card abroad 3 out of 5
Dealing with complaints and resolving problems 3 out of 5
Dealing with queries 3 out of 5
Ability to manage account online 4 out of 5
Ability to manage account by telephone 3 out of 5
Mobile app on a smartphone or tablet 5 out of 5

Star ratings out of five show levels of satisfaction for each category. Where no stars are given, we received too few responses in our survey to award a score.

How we calculate Aqua’s customer score and ratings

We pick credit cards to feature in Which? brand reviews based on the most popular credit card brands searched for online.

Customer scores are based on an online survey of the public conducted in May 2021, which received 4,011 responses. Participants could provide answers on up to two credit cards.

This year’s customer score analysis is based on a sample size of 5,744 credit card experiences in total, and represents overall satisfaction as well as the likelihood to recommend the provider to a friend.

Star ratings for each category are calculated independently of the customer score.

We carry out these surveys annually and update our review pages accordingly. Providers must receive a minimum sample size of 50 respondents to be included in our customer satisfaction tables.

 

                 M&S Bank credit card review

Find out how M&S Bank has been rated for its application process, customer service, mobile app and more in our latest credit card customer satisfaction survey.

What do M&S Bank credit cards offer?

M&S Bank’s suite of credit cards includes a competitive 0% balance transfer deal, a 0% purchase offer, and a reward credit card. Credit is subject to status and terms apply.

The reward and purchase credit cards let you earn points on everyday spending, and the points can be converted into M&S vouchers.

How does M&S Bank compare with other providers?

M&S Bank credit card customers gave the brand an impressive score of 75% in our latest credit card satisfaction survey.

The provider came in joint-sixth place, although its current range of deals didn’t meet the benchmarks in our product analysis to secure Which? Recommended Provider status.

Is M&S Bank a good credit card provider?

Our survey also reveals how M&S Bank credit card customers rated the provider across 10 categories.

Find out in the table below how M&S Bank scored for its application process, online account management, telephone banking, mobile app, statement clarity, transparency of charges, overseas usage fees, customer service, query handling and complaint resolution.

M&S Bank credit card customer satisfaction category Star rating
Customer service 5 out of 5
Application process 5 out of 5
Clarity of statement 5 out of 5
Transparency of charges 5 out of 5
Charges for using your card abroad 2 out of 5
Dealing with complaints and resolving problems 4 out of 5
Dealing with queries 4 out of 5
Ability to manage account online 4 out of 5
Ability to manage account by telephone 3 out of 5
Mobile app on a smartphone or tablet 3 out of 5

Star ratings out of five show levels of satisfaction for each category. Where no stars are given, we received too few responses in our survey to award a score.

How we calculate M&S Bank’s customer score and ratings

We pick credit cards to feature in Which? brand reviews based on the most popular credit card brands searched for online.

Customer scores are based on an online survey of the public conducted in May 2021, which received 4,011 responses. Participants could provide answers on up to two credit cards.

This year’s customer score analysis is based on a sample size of 5,744 credit card experiences in total, and represents overall satisfaction as well as the likelihood to recommend the provider to a friend.

Star ratings for each category are calculated independently of the customer score.

We carry out these surveys annually and update our review pages accordingly. Providers must receive a minimum sample size of 50 respondents to be included in our customer satisfaction tables.

                       NatWest credit card review

Find out how NatWest has been rated for its application process, customer service, mobile app and more in our latest credit card customer satisfaction survey

What do NatWest credit cards offer?

NatWest offers competitive 0% balance transfer deals, a low-rate card with no foreign transaction fees on purchases abroad, and rewards credit cards. Credit is subject to status and terms apply.

However, to apply for any of these deals you must have a current account, savings account or mortgage with NatWest.

How does NatWest compare to other providers?

NatWest has received an average score of 72% in our latest credit card satisfaction survey, placing it joint 12th along with Bank of Scotland, Capital One, HSBC and MBNA in our 2021 analysis.

Is NatWest a good credit card provider?

Our survey also reveals how NatWest customers rated the provider across 10 categories.

Find out in the table below how NatWest scored for its application process, online account management, telephone banking, mobile app, statement clarity, transparency of charges, overseas usage fees, customer service, query handling and complaint resolution.

NatWest credit card customer satisfaction category Star rating
Customer service 4 out of 5
Application process 4 out of 5
Clarity of statement 4 out of 5
Transparency of charges 4 out of 5
Charges for using your card abroad 3 out of 5
Dealing with complaints and resolving problems 3 out of 5
Dealing with queries 3 out of 5
Ability to manage account online 5 out of 5
Ability to manage account by telephone 3 out of 5
Mobile app on a smartphone or tablet 5 out of 5

Star ratings out of five show levels of satisfaction for each category. Where no stars are given, we received too few responses in our survey to award a score.

How we calculate NatWest’s customer score and ratings

We pick credit cards to feature in Which? brand reviews based on the most popular credit card brands searched for online.

Customer scores are based on an online survey of the public conducted in May 2021, which received 4,011 responses. Participants could provide answers on up to two credit cards.

This year’s customer score analysis is based on a sample size of 5,744 credit card experiences in total, and represents overall satisfaction as well as the likelihood to recommend the provider to a friend.

Star ratings for each category are calculated independently of the customer score.

We carry out these surveys annually and update our review pages accordingly. Providers must receive a minimum sample size of 50 respondents to be included in our customer satisfaction tables.

 

                          Amazon credit card review

Find out how Amazon’s credit card has been rated for its application process, customer service, mobile app and more, in our latest credit card customer satisfaction survey.

What do Amazon credit cards offer?

Amazon currently offers two credit cards issued by New Day Ltd: the Platinum Mastercard, which is a reward credit card, and the Classic Mastercard, which is a credit-builder card.

The Amazon Platinum Mastercard allows you to collect 1.5 Amazon Reward Points (or three if you’re a Prime member) for every £2 spent at Amazon, and 0.5 Amazon Reward Points for every £2 spent elsewhere. For every 1,000 points you earn, you’ll get a £10 Amazon gift card. The representative APR is 21.9% (variable), credit is subject to status and terms apply.

The Amazon Classic Mastercard is designed to help build your credit rating and comes with a representative APR of 29.9% (variable). If you make at least one transaction a month, make repayments on time and stay within your credit limit for 12 months, you’ll be upgraded to the Amazon Platinum Mastercard. Credit is subject to status and terms apply.

How does Amazon compare with other providers?

Amazon credit card customers gave the brand 71% in our latest credit card satisfaction survey, placing it towards the bottom of our table in joint 17th place.

Is Amazon a good credit card provider?

Our survey also reveals how Amazon customers rated the provider across 10 categories.

Find out in the table below how Amazon scored for its credit card application process, online account management, telephone banking, mobile app, statement clarity, transparency of charges, overseas usage fees, customer service, query handling and complaint resolution.

Amazon credit card customer satisfaction category Star rating
Customer service 4 out of 5
Application process 4 out of 5
Clarity of statement 4 out of 5
Transparency of charges 4 out of 5
Charges for using your card abroad 3 out of 5
Dealing with complaints and resolving problems 3 out of 5
Dealing with queries 3 out of 5
Ability to manage account online 4 out of 5
Ability to manage account by telephone 3 out of 5
Mobile app on a smartphone or tablet 3 out of 5

Star ratings out of five show levels of satisfaction for each category. Where no stars are given, we received too few responses in our survey to give a rating.

How we calculate Amazon’s customer score and ratings

We pick credit cards to feature in Which? brand reviews based on the most popular credit card brands searched for online.

Customer scores are based on an online survey of the public conducted in May 2021, which received 4,011 responses. Participants could provide answers on up to two credit cards.

This year’s customer score analysis is based on a sample size of 5,744 credit card experiences in total, and represents overall satisfaction as well as the likelihood to recommend the provider to a friend.

Star ratings for each category are calculated independently of the customer score.

We carry out these surveys annually and update our review pages accordingly. Providers must receive a minimum sample size of 50 respondents to be included in our customer satisfaction tables.

                    Nationwide credit card review

Find out how Nationwide has been rated for its application process, customer service, mobile app and more in our latest credit card customer satisfaction survey

What do Nationwide credit cards offer?

Nationwide Building Society offers a Member credit card that comes with a choice of 0% offers plus unlimited commission-free purchases abroad, making it one of the most competitive cards for overseas spending.

The Member Balance Transfer Credit Card offers 0% on balance transfers for 18 months (1.5% balance transfer fee in the first 90 days).

Alternatively, there’s the Member All Rounder Offer which can get you 0% on purchases and balance transfers (1.5% fee for the first 90 days) for 15 months.

Representative example: if you borrowed £1,200 for one year, at a purchase rate of 19.9% (variable), both deals would cost a representative 19.9% APR (variable). Credit available subject to status and terms apply.

However, in order to take out a Nationwide credit card, you will need to be a Nationwide current account holder, mortgage customer, or have a Nationwide savings account.

How does Nationwide compare with other providers?

Nationwide placed joint-sixth in our latest credit card survey customer satisfaction survey.

It achieved an impressive customer score of 75% and its deals have passed the test to make Nationwide a Which? Recommended Provider.

Is Nationwide a good credit card provider?

Our survey also reveals how Nationwide customers rated the provider across 10 categories.

Find out in the table below how Nationwide scored for its application process, online account management, telephone banking, mobile app, statement clarity, transparency of charges, overseas usage fees, customer service, query handling and complaint resolution.

Nationwide credit card customer satisfaction category Star rating
Customer service 5 out of 5
Application process 5 out of 5
Clarity of statement 4 out of 5
Transparency of charges 5 out of 5
Charges for using your card abroad 4 out of 5
Dealing with complaints and resolving problems 4 out of 5
Dealing with queries 5 out of 5
Ability to manage account online 5 out of 5
Ability to manage account by telephone 4 out of 5
Mobile app on a smartphone or tablet 5 out of 5

Star ratings out of five show levels of satisfaction for each category. Where no stars are given, we received too few responses in our survey to award a score.

How we calculate Nationwide’s customer score and ratings

We pick those to feature in Which? reviews based on the most popular credit card brands searched for online.

Customer scores are based on an online survey of the public conducted in May 2021, which received 4,011 responses. Participants could provide answers on up to two credit cards.

This year’s customer score analysis is based on a sample size of 5,744 credit card experiences in total and represents overall satisfaction as well as the likelihood to recommend the provider to a friend.

Star ratings for each category are calculated independently of the customer score.

We carry out these surveys annually and update our review pages accordingly. Providers must receive a minimum sample size of 50 respondents to be included in our customer satisfaction tables.

                               TSB credit card review

Find out how TSB has been rated for its application process, customer service, mobile app and more in our latest credit card customer satisfaction survey.

What do TSB credit cards offer?

TSB offers a competitive 0% balance transfer deal, a dual 0% balance transfer and purchase card and a low-rate deal. Credit subject to status and terms apply.

How does TSB compare to other providers?

TSB scored a dismal 64% in our latest credit card satisfaction survey, placing it joint bottom of the table along with Royal Bank of Scotland.

Is TSB a good credit card provider?

Our survey also reveals how TSB customers rated the provider across 10 categories.

Find out in the table below how TSB scored for its application process, online account management, telephone banking, mobile app, statement clarity, transparency of charges, overseas use fees, customer service, query handling and complaint resolution.

TSB credit card customer satisfaction category Star rating
Customer service 4 out of 5
Application process 4 out of 5
Clarity of statement 4 out of 5
Transparency of charges 3 out of 5
Charges for using your card abroad
Dealing with complaints and resolving problems
Dealing with queries 3 out of 5
Ability to manage account online 4 out of 5
Ability to manage account by telephone
Mobile app on a smartphone or tablet 3 out of 5

Star ratings out of five show levels of satisfaction for each category. Where no stars are given, we received too few responses in our survey to award a score.

How we calculate TSB’s customer score and ratings

We pick credit cards to feature in Which? brand reviews based on the most popular credit card brands searched for online.

Customer scores are based on an online survey of the public in May 2021, which received 4,011 responses. Participants could provide answers on up to two credit cards.

This year’s customer score analysis is based on a sample size of 5,744 credit card experiences, and represents overall satisfaction as well as the likelihood to recommend the provider to a friend.

Star ratings for each category are calculated independently of the customer score.

We carry out these surveys annually and update our review pages accordingly. Providers must receive a minimum sample size of 50 respondents to be included in our customer satisfaction tables.

 

                         Barclaycard credit card review

Find out how Barclaycard has been rated for its application process, customer service, mobile app and more in our latest credit card customer satisfaction survey

What do Barclaycard credit cards offer?

Barclaycard is the largest credit card provider in the UK, and offers a wide range of cards to suit different borrowing and spending needs.

Currently, it has a range of 0% purchase and balance transfer deals, a credit-builder card and a fee-free card for spending abroad that pays cashback. Credit is subject to status and terms apply.

Is Barclaycard a good credit card provider?

Our survey also reveals how Barclaycard customers rated the provider across 10 categories.

Find out in the table below how Barclaycard scored for its application process, online account management, telephone banking, mobile app, statement clarity, transparency of charges, overseas usage fees, customer service, query handling and complaint resolution.

Barclaycard credit card customer satisfaction category Star rating
Customer service 4 out of 5
Application process 4 out of 5
Clarity of statement 4 out of 5
Transparency of charges 4 out of 5
Charges for using your card abroad 3 out of 5
Dealing with complaints and resolving problems 4 out of 5
Dealing with queries 3 out of 5
Ability to manage account online 4 out of 5
Ability to manage account by telephone 3 out of 5
Mobile app on a smartphone or tablet 4 out of 5

Star ratings out of five show levels of satisfaction for each category. Where no stars are given, we received too few responses in our survey to award a score.

How we calculate Barclaycard’s customer score and ratings

We pick those to feature in Which? reviews based on the most popular credit card brands searched for online.

Customer scores are based on an online survey of the public conducted in May 2021, which received 4,011 responses. Participants could provide answers on up to two credit cards.

This year’s customer score analysis is based on a sample size of 5,744 credit card experiences in total, and represents overall satisfaction as well as the likelihood to recommend the provider to a friend.

Star ratings for each category are calculated independently of the customer score.

We carry out these surveys annually and update our review pages accordingly. Providers must receive a minimum sample size of 50 respondents to be included in our customer satisfaction tables.

 

                       MBNA credit card review

Find out how MBNA has been rated for its application process, customer service, mobile app and more in our latest credit card customer satisfaction survey

What do MBNA credit cards offer?

MBNA boasts a wide range of credit cards including 0% balance transfer and0% purchase deals.

It’s also one of a handful of providers that offers a 0% money transfer credit card which allows you to shift money from your card into your bank account interest-free for a set time.

Credit is subject to status and terms apply.

Is MBNA a good credit card provider?

Our survey also reveals how MBNA customers rated the provider across 10 categories.

Find out in the table below how MBNA scored for its application process, online account management, telephone banking, mobile app, statement clarity, transparency of charges, overseas usage fees, customer service, query handling and complaint resolution.

MBNA credit card customer satisfaction category Star rating
Customer service 4 out of 5
Application process 4 out of 5
Clarity of statement 4 out of 5
Transparency of charges 4 out of 5
Charges for using your card abroad 3 out of 5
Dealing with complaints and resolving problems 3 out of 5
Dealing with queries 4 out of 5
Ability to manage account online 4 out of 5
Ability to manage account by telephone 3 out of 5
Mobile app on a smartphone or tablet 4 out of 5

Star ratings out of five show levels of satisfaction for each category. Where no stars are given, we received too few responses in our survey to award a score.

How we calculate MBNA’s customer score and ratings

We pick those to feature in Which? reviews based on the most popular credit card brands searched for online.

Customer scores are based on an online survey of the public conducted in May 2021, which received 4,011 responses. Participants could provide answers on up to two credit cards.

This year’s customer score analysis is based on a sample size of 5,744 credit card experiences in total and represents overall satisfaction as well as the likelihood to recommend the provider to a friend.

Star ratings for each category are calculated independently of the customer score.

We carry out these surveys annually and update our review pages accordingly. Providers must receive a minimum sample size of 50 respondents to be included in our customer satisfaction tables.

                          Santander credit card review

Find out how Santander has been rated for its overseas fees, customer service, mobile app and more in our latest credit card customer satisfaction survey.

What do Santander credit cards offer?

Santander offers a range of credit cards including a dual offer, a fee-free 0% balance transferdeal and a card with perks travelers will enjoy. Credit is subject to status and terms apply.

Is Santander a good credit card provider?

Our survey also reveals how Santander customers rated the provider across 10 categories.

Find out in the table below how Santander scored for its application process, online account management, telephone banking, mobile app, statement clarity, transparency of charges, overseas usage fees, customer service, query handling and complaint resolution.

Santander credit card customer satisfaction category Star rating
Customer service 4 out of 5
Application process 4 out of 5
Clarity of statement 4 out of 5
Transparency of charges 4 out of 5
Charges for using your card abroad 3 out of 5
Dealing with complaints and resolving problems 3 out of 5
Dealing with queries 4 out of 5
Ability to manage account online 4 out of 5
Ability to manage account by telephone 3 out of 5
Mobile app on a smartphone or tablet 3 out of 5

Star ratings out of five show levels of satisfaction for each category. Where no stars are given, we received too few responses in our survey to award a score.

How we calculate Santander’s customer score and ratings

We pick credit cards to feature in Which? brand reviews based on the most popular credit card brands searched for online.

Customer scores are based on an online survey of the public conducted in May 2021, which received 4,011 responses. Participants could provide answers on up to two credit cards.

This year’s customer score analysis is based on a sample size of 5,744 credit card experiences in total, and represents overall satisfaction as well as the likelihood to recommend the provider to a friend.

Star ratings for each category are calculated independently of the customer score.

We carry out these surveys annually and update our review pages accordingly. Providers must receive a minimum sample size of 50 respondents to be included in our customer satisfaction tables.

                      Halifax credit card review

Find out how Halifax has been rated for its overseas fees, customer service, mobile app and more in our latest credit card customer satisfaction survey.

What do Halifax credit cards offer?

Halifax has much to offer across its range of cards, including its Clarity card which is a top pick for spending abroad.

You won’t have to worry about foreign transaction fees, nor do you have to pay an annual fee.

Representative example: assuming you borrow £1,200 for one year, at a purchase rate of 19.95% (variable), the cost of borrowing is a representative 19.9% APR (variable). Credit available subject to status and terms apply.

Is Halifax a good credit card provider?

Our survey also reveals how Halifax customers rated the provider across 10 categories.

Find out in the table below how Halifax scored for its application process, online account management, telephone banking, mobile app, statement clarity, transparency of charges, overseas use fees, customer service, query handling and complaint resolution.

Halifax credit card customer satisfaction category Star rating
Customer service 4 out of 5
Application process 4 out of 5
Clarity of statement 4 out of 5
Transparency of charges 4 out of 5
Charges for using your card abroad 4 out of 5
Dealing with complaints and resolving problems 4 out of 5
Dealing with queries 4 out of 5
Ability to manage account online 4 out of 5
Ability to manage account by telephone 3 out of 5
Mobile app on a smartphone or tablet 4 out of 5

Star ratings out of five show levels of satisfaction for each category. Where no stars are given, we received too few responses in our survey to award a score.

How we calculate Halifax’s customer score and ratings

We pick credit cards to feature in Which? brand reviews based on the most popular credit card brands searched for online.

Customer scores are based on an online survey of the public in May 2021, which received 4,011 responses. Participants could provide answers on up to two credit cards.

This year’s customer score analysis is based on a sample size of 5,744 credit card experiences in total, and represents overall satisfaction as well as the likelihood to recommend the provider to a friend.

Star ratings for each category are calculated independently of the customer score.

We carry out these surveys annually and update our review pages accordingly. Providers must receive a minimum sample size of 50 respondents to be included in our customer satisfaction tables.

            Best and worst credit card providers

Find out how 26 credit card providers have been rated by their customers for overseas fees, mobile app, customer service and more.

How do I find the best credit card companies?

The table below shows the Customer Score for 26 card providers, as well as the ones that have been named

Only card providers that combine high levels of customer satisfaction with products that meet the standards

To be a  Provider a credit card company must:

  • have a Customer Score of at least 70% in our latest customer satisfaction survey;
  • have at least one top 10 card in one of the seven main categories available on the market;
  • have an average or above product analysis score;
  • not have a representative APR of more than 24% on any of its mainstream cards.

 

Who are the Which? Recommended Providers?

Below we present the WRP’s for 2021. If you want to find out more about them, or any other brand, check out our individual reviews.

American Express

American Express received a customer score of 80%, thanks to its great online and mobile app management facilities, customer service, and its transparency of charges.

The brand offers a range of market-leading cashback and reward credit cards.

The American Express Platinum Cashback Everyday Credit Card for example, offers 5% cashback (up to £100) in your first three months and a rate of 0.5%-1% thereafter. There’s no annual fee and the card has a representative 22.2% APR (variable). Credit is subject to status and terms apply.

Halifax

Halifax received a customer score of 76%, with customers rating its credit card offering highly for its app, customer service, managing accounts online and more.

Its Clarity credit card is a top pick for spending abroad, as there are no foreign transaction fees to worry about.

Representative example: based on the assumed borrowing of £1,200 for one year, at a purchase rate of 19.95% (variable), the cost of borrowing is a representative 19.9% APR (variable). Credit available subject to status and terms apply.

Tesco Bank

Tesco Bank received a customer score of 76%, with customers rating it highly for its customer service and ability to manage accounts online.

It offers a broad selection of credit cards, suitable for a range of borrowers, including competitive 0% balance transfer, 0% purchase, credit-builder, and low APR cards – all of which offer Tesco Clubcard points on spending.

The Tesco Purchase Credit Card, for example, offers 20 months 0% on purchases and Clubcard points on spending.

Representative example: assumed borrowing of £1,200 for one year, at a purchase rate of 20.94% (variable), representative 20.9% APR (variable). Credit available subject to status and terms apply.

Nationwide

Nationwide is a consistent top performer in our surveys. This year it received a customer score of 75%, with customers highly rating the building society’s customer service and transparency of charges.

Its Member credit card comes with the choice of two introductory offers.

The Member Balance Transfer Credit Card offers 0% on balance transfers for 18 months and a 1.5% balance transfer fee in the first 90 days.

Alternatively, there’s the Member All Rounder Offer which can get you 0% on purchases and balance transfers (1.5% fee for the first 90 days) for 15 months.

Both deals have no annual fee, offer fee-free spending abroad and come with a representative APR (variable) of 19.9%.

Representative example: assuming you borrowed £1,200 for one year, at a purchase rate of 19.9% (variable), the cards would cost a representative 19.9% APR (variable). Credit available subject to status and terms apply.

To get the Member credit card you need to be a member of Nationwide, which means you should have a current account, mortgage or savings account with the building society.

British Airways

British Airways is a Which? Recommended Provider for a second year running. It achieved a customer score of 74% thanks to its clear charges, customer service, and ability to manage accounts online and via the mobile app.

The airline offers a range of reward credit cards that allow cardholders to collect Avios, which can be exchanged for perks such as flights, holidays, experiences, and wine.

The British Airways American Express Credit Card will reward you with one Avios for every £1 you spend and 5,000 bonus Avios when you spend £1,000 in your first three months. The card has no annual fee.

Representative example: assuming you borrow £1,200 for one year, at a purchase rate of 22.2% (variable) the card offers a representative 22.2% APR (variable). Credit available subject to status and terms apply.

Then there is the British Airways American Express Platinum Plus Credit Card which offers 1.5 Avios for every £1 you spend and 25,000 bonus Avios when you spend £3,000 in your first three months with the card. The card comes with an annual fee of £195.

Representative example: assuming you borrow £1,200 for one year, at a purchase rate of 22.2% (variable), with a £195 annual fee, the cost of credit is a representative 74.7% APR (variable). Credit available subject to status and terms apply.

How we calculate the  Customer Score

We pick credit cards to feature in Which? brand reviews based on the most popular credit card brands searched for online.

Customer scores are based on an online survey of the public conducted in May 2021, which received 4,011 responses. Participants could provide answers on up to two credit cards.

This year’s customer score analysis is based on a sample size of 5,744 credit card experiences in total, and represents overall satisfaction as well as the likelihood to recommend the provider to a friend.

Star ratings for each category are calculated independently of the customer score.

We carry out these surveys annually and update our review pages accordingly. Providers must receive a minimum sample size of 50 respondents to be included in our customer satisfaction tables.

 

              Virgin Money credit card review

Find out how Virgin Money has been rated for its application process, customer service, mobile app and more in our latest credit card customer satisfaction survey.

What do Virgin Money credit cards offer?

Virgin Money has a large range of deals to choose from, including 0% balance transfer cards, all-round deals and 0% money transfer offers.  Credit is subject to status and terms apply.

Is Virgin Money a good credit card provider?

Our survey also reveals how Virgin Money customers rated the provider across 10 categories.

Find out in the table below how Virgin Money scored for its application process, online account management, telephone banking, mobile app, statement clarity, transparency of charges, overseas usage fees, customer service, query handling and complaint resolution.

Virgin Money credit card customer satisfaction category Star rating
Customer service 3 out of 5
Application process 4 out of 5
Clarity of statement 4 out of 5
Transparency of charges 4 out of 5
Charges for using your card abroad 3 out of 5
Dealing with complaints and resolving problems 3 out of 5
Dealing with queries 3 out of 5
Ability to manage account online 4 out of 5
Ability to manage account by telephone 3 out of 5
Mobile app on a smartphone or tablet 4 out of 5

Star ratings out of five show levels of satisfaction for each category. Where no stars are given, we received too few responses in our survey to award a score.

How we calculate Virgin Money’s customer score and ratings

We pick credit cards to feature in Which? brand reviews based on the most popular credit card brands searched for online.

Customer scores are based on an online survey of the public conducted in May 2021, which received 4,011 responses. Participants could provide answers on up to two credit cards.

This year’s customer score analysis is based on a sample size of 5,744 credit card experiences in total, and represents overall satisfaction as well as the likelihood to recommend the provider to a friend.

Star ratings for each category are calculated independently of the customer score.

We carry out these surveys annually and update our review pages accordingly. Providers must receive a minimum sample size of 50 respondents to be included in our customer satisfaction tables.

              Lloyds Bank credit card review

Find out how Lloyds Bank has been rated for its application process, customer service, mobile app and more in our latest credit card customer satisfaction survey.

What credit cards does Lloyds offer?

Lloyds Bank, one of the largest banks in the UK, offers a broad range of deals to suit different needs, including 0% balance transfer and 0% purchase credit cards, as well as cards that offer a consistent low rate for everyday spending. Credit is subject to status and terms apply.

 

Is Lloyds a good credit card provider?

Our survey also reveals how Lloyds customers rated the provider across 10 categories.

Find out in the table below how Lloyds scored for its application process, online account management, telephone banking, mobile app, statement clarity, transparency of charges, overseas usage fees, customer service, query handling and complaint resolution.

Lloyds Bank credit card customer satisfaction category Star rating
Customer service 4 out of 5
Application process 4 out of 5
Clarity of statement 4 out of 5
Transparency of charges 3 out of 5
Charges for using your card abroad 2 out of 5
Dealing with complaints and resolving problems 3 out of 5
Dealing with queries 3 out of 5
Ability to manage account online 4 out of 5
Ability to manage account by telephone 3 out of 5
Mobile app on a smartphone or tablet 3 out of 5

Star ratings out of five show levels of satisfaction for each category. Where no stars are given, we received too few responses in our survey to award a score.

How we calculate Lloyds Bank’s customer score and ratings

We pick credit cards to feature in Which? brand reviews based on the most popular credit card brands searched for online.

Customer scores are based on an online survey of the public conducted in May 2021, which received 4,011 responses. Participants could provide answers on up to two credit cards.

This year’s customer score analysis is based on a sample size of 5,744 credit card experiences in total, and represents overall satisfaction as well as the likelihood to recommend the provider to a friend.

Star ratings for each category are calculated independently of the customer score.

We carry out these surveys annually and update our review pages accordingly. Providers must receive a minimum sample size of 50 respondents to be included in our customer satisfaction tables.