We reveal the built-in oven brands that stand the test of time, using our unique oven owner survey data and independent reviews

oven brands

 

If your oven has stopped heating up properly or the fan has conked out, you’re not alone. These are two of the most common faults that affect ovens, according to our latest, large-scale, independent survey of owners. From AEG to Zanussi, there are plenty of oven brands to choose from. And going for one that won’t have you calling the engineer within a year or two should be an important part of your buying decision.

That’s why, every year in our unique survey, we ask thousands of  members to tell us whether they’re happy with their appliances and which ones have caused them problems.

This year, more than 12,000 Which? members and 5,000 members of the public have given us the low-down on their oven experiences, both good and bad. Our survey data includes which ovens became faulty and whether this led to them needing to be repaired or replaced.

Read on for the results of our number-crunching on 20 oven brands, including  Bosch, Miele, Neff and Zanussi. We’ve calculated a customer score for each, so you know which brands come recommended by owners.

Which oven brand is the most reliable?

You would be right to expect your oven to last beyond seven years. However, as you can see from the table below, a third of ovens from the faultiest brand had to be repaired or replaced within this time.

The table shows that the difference between the most and least faulty brands is very significant: the worst brand from our survey is more than six times as likely to need to be  repaired or replaced compared with our best brand We award Eco Buys to those ovens that impress us with their efficiency.

However, we also need to be impressed by their longevity, so any brand that has more than 10% of its ovens repaired or replaced within seven years can’t be an Eco Buy.

Brand with Proportion repaired or replaced due to a fault

Zanussi/Zanussi Electrolux 5%

Neff 7%

Hisense 7%

Miele 8%

Siemens 8%

AEG/AEG Electrolux 9%

John Lewis 10%

Bosch 10%

Samsung 10%

Hotpoint 11%

Lamona 11%

Indesit 14%

Electrolux 15%

Stoves 16%

Smeg 16%

Ikea 17%

Beko 19%

Baumatic 25%

Belling 26%

CDA 32%

Verdict: top 10 oven brands in-depth

We’ve gathered all our data on customer satisfaction, average scores in our independent oven tests, and reliability results to supply a detailed picture of well-known brands. Read on to find which ones come out best.

Brands are ranked by their customer score, which relates to whether their customers would recommend that brand.  \

1. Miele ovens verdict

All of the seven Miele ovens we’ve tested in the past three years are Best Buys which, overall, gives them a hugely impressive average test score of 79%.

Miele ovens are less prone to faults than many others: around one in 10 develop a fault in the first seven years.  With such a great record, it’s not surprising that Miele oven customers are the most satisfied out there, with a customer score of 81%.

Miele is the priciest brand, though, and it’s easy to spend more than £1,000 on one a Miele single oven. The customer score is based on a Which? member survey of 139 Miele oven owners conducted in September 2021. Number of Best Buys and cost based on all models on Which.co.uk in November 2021.  See our full list of Miele oven reviews.

2. Neff ovens verdict

Neff is a favourite brand of Which? members and deserves it, considering its impressive tally of 16 Best Buys out of 22 models on test. An average test score of 75% is not to be sniffed at, either.  A little more than one in 10 owners can expect a fault from their Neff oven within the first seven years.

Neff ovens have the second-most-satisfied owners out there. In our customer satisfaction survey this year, the brand scored 79%. When it comes to cost, you can occasionally pick up a good Neff oven for less than £400, but more generally expect to pay more than £500.

The customer score is based on a  member survey of 1,538 Neff oven owners conducted in September 2021. Number of Best Buys and cost based on all models on Which.co.uk in November 2021.  See our full list of Neff oven reviews.

3. Hisense ovens verdict

Hisense is a new kid on the block compared with old favourites, such as Bosch, Miele or Neff. But it’s showing great promise, with two thirds of the nine models we’ve tested becoming Best Buys, and a great average test score of 75%.  Most impressive though is the reliability of Hisense ovens. Only 8% of owners in our survey had suffered a fault in the first seven years, which is the best result this year.

Considering the above, a customer satisfaction score in the top three, at 77%, is well deserved. Hisense ovens are often impressively cheap, occasionally less than £200.

However, expect to spend more than £300 if you want a double oven, or extra features such as pyrolytic self-cleaning. The customer score is based on a  member survey of 60 Hisense oven owners conducted in September 2021.

Number of Best Buys and cost based on all models on Which.co.uk in November 2021.  See our full list of Hisense oven reviews.

4. John Lewis ovens verdict

John Lewis ovens do really well in our tests, averaging 77%, and two of the four tested in recent years are Best Buys.  According to our survey, 12% of owners’ ovens had a malfunction within seven years of ownership, which isn’t bad in the scheme of things.

The bulk of John Lewis owners were content with their purchase, as shown by a customer satisfaction score of 75%. As expected from John Lewis, the brand’s ovens aren’t the cheapest out there. Expect to pay between £400 and £800 for a single oven.

The customer score is based on a  member survey of 126 John Lewis oven owners conducted in September 2021. Number of Best Buys and cost based on all models on Wich.co.uk in November 2021.  See our full list of John Lewis oven reviews.

5. Siemens ovens verdict

Only one of the six Siemens ovens we’ve tested in the past three years failed in its quest to be a Best Buy, and this brand manages a good average test score of 75%. Just one in 10 Siemens ovens develop faults within seven years, which makes this one of the oven brands least prone to failure.

Three quarters of owners are happy with their oven, which puts Siemens in the top five. Siemens ovens tend to be pricier than many other brands – expect to pay at least £500.

The priciest Siemens oven on Which.co.uk costs an eye-watering £1,749. The customer score is based on a Which? member survey of 198 Siemens oven owners conducted in September 2021.

Number of Best Buys and cost based on all models on Which.co.uk in November 2021.  See our full list of Siemens oven reviews.

6. Bosch ovens verdict

More than two thirds of the 26 Bosch ovens we’ve tested in the past three years are Best Buys, and they average an impressive 76% test score. Our survey found that 14% of owners experienced a fault within the first seven years. To put this in context, the best brand was 8% and the worst 35%.

Customer satisfaction is good, with 74% of owners happy with their Bosch oven. Bosch oven prices span a wide range. You can pay less than £300 or more than £1,000 for a single over.

The starting price for a good double oven is more like £700. The customer score is based on a Which? member survey of 954 Bosch oven owners conducted in September 2021. Number of Best Buys and cost based on all models on Which.co.uk in November 2021.  See our full list of Bosch oven reviews.

7. Samsung ovens verdict

Samsung ovens excel in our tests: eight out of nine are Best Buys, which contributes towards an impressive average test score of 77%.  Sadly, reliability isn’t as impressive: one in five owners should expect something to go awry with their Samsung oven within the first seven years. This higher-than-average fault rate doesn’t stop most (74%) owners of Samsung ovens being happy with their purchase, however. Unless you want an all-singing all-dancing model, you can pick up a great Samsung oven for around £500. The customer score is based on a Which? member survey of 130 Samsung oven owners conducted in September 2021. Number of Best Buys and cost based on all models on Which.co.uk in November 2021.  See our full list of Samsung oven reviews.

8. AEG ovens verdict

Three quarters of the 12 AEG ovens recently tested are Best Buys, which together give an excellent average average test score of 77%. Around 13% of owners should expect their AEG oven to develop a fault within seven years – which is much closer to the best brand at 8% than the worst at 35%. Customer satisfaction levels are good, at 73% AEG ovens are traditionally pricier than average, but we have Best Buy single ovens that cost less than £400. The customer score is based on a Which? member survey of 600 AEG oven owners conducted in September 2021. Number of Best Buys and cost based on all models on Which.co.uk in November 2021.  See our full list of AEG oven reviews.

9. Ikea ovens verdict

Ikea ovens do well in our tests: they have an average test score of 74%, and four of the six we’ve tested recently are Best Buys.  A fault rate of 24%, however, is poor. Nearly a quarter of Ikea oven owners will find their oven develops a fault within the first seven years.  Despite this higher-than-average fault rate, most customers (71%) are pleased that they own an Ikea oven. Ikea ovens tend to be modestly priced: expect to pay between £350 and £500 for a single model. The customer score is based on a Which? member survey of 101 Ikea oven owners conducted in September 2021. Number of Best Buys and cost based on all models on Which.co.uk in November 2021.  See our full list of Ikea oven reviews.

10. Zanussi ovens verdict

Close to half of the Zanussi ovens we’ve tested of late are Best Buys, and their average test score is a decent 74%.  A fault rate of just 10% means Zanussi is in the top three of least faulty brands. It’s also the brand that fewest owners (5%) find themselves needing to replace within the first seven years.

Zanussi has a customer satisfaction score of  71%, which means it sneaks into the top 10. It’s easy to find a great Zanussi oven for less than £350. The customer score is based on a Which? member survey of 403 Zanussi oven owners conducted in September 2021. Number of Best Buys and cost based on all models on Which.co.uk in November 2021.

The three most common oven faults

Adult and child taking cookies out of the oven

 

 

The internal light ceasing to work was easily the most common fault reported by owners of ovens in our latest survey. Fortunately, this is usually an easy one to remedy.

Next up were issues with the oven not heating up properly or the fan giving up the ghost.  Other annoyances were a faulty grill, dodgy door or one of the dials or controls not working.

While replacing a broken light may be something you can manage yourself, you’ll want to call out an oven engineer for anything more complex.